Contact Us  |  Search:  
The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine
Science and Technology for Sustainability Program
Science and Technology for Sustainability Program
Policy and Global Affairs
Home About Us STS Roundtable Sustainability Across The Academies
Quick Links


Download a description of our program

Upcoming Events

View a list of Sustainability-related meetings at the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine

Recent Events

NELS: Ocean Sustainability and our nation's National Ocean Policy
April 14, 2016, Washington DC

Transition toward Sustainability after 15 Years: Where Do We Stand in Advancing the Scientific Foundation?: A Workshop

January 14-15, 2016, Newport Beach, CA

Roundtable Members

David Dzombak (Co-Chair) (NAE), Hamerschlag University Professor and Department Head, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University

Lynn Scarlett (Co-Chair), Managing Director for Public Policy, The Nature Conservancy

Ann Bartuska, Deputy Under Secretary for Research, Education and Economics, U.S. Department of Agriculture*

Steve Bergman
, Principal Regional Geologist, Shell International Exploration & Production Company

Paulo Ferrão, Professor, Instituto Superior Tecnico, University of Lisbon

Marilu Hastings, Sustainability Program Director, Cynthia and George Mitchell Foundation

Lek Kadeli, Acting Assistant Administrator, Office of Research and Development, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency*

Michael Kavanaugh (NAE), Senior Principal, Geosyntec Consultants

Jack Kaye, Associate Director, Research of the Earth Science Division, National Aeronautics and Space Administration* 

Mehmood Khan, Executive Vice President and Chief Scientific Officer, Global Research and Development, PepsiCo Inc. 

Suzette Kimball, Acting Director, U.S. Geological Survey*

Steven E. Koonin, Director, Center for Urban Science and Progress, New York University 
Franklin Orr (NAE), Under Secretary for Science and Energy, U.S. Department of Energy*

Francis O'Sullivan,
 Director, MIT Energy Initiative, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Prabhu Pingali (NAS), Director, Tata-Cornell Initiative in Agriculture and Nutrition, Cornell University

Richard W. Spinrad, Chief Scientist, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, U.S. Department of Commerce*

Michael Webber, Assistant Professor, Mechanical Engineering, University of Texas

Roundtable on Science and Technology for Sustainability, Biographical Information


Jerry L. Miller, Director, Science and Technology for Sustainability Program

Michael Dorsey
, Senior Program Officer

Dominic Brose, Program Officer

Emi Kameyama, Program Associate

Yasmin Romitti, Research Assistant

*Denotes ex-officio member