NATIONAL-ACADEMIES.ORG   Contact Us  |  Search:  
National Academy of Sciences
National Academy of Engineering
Institute of Medicine
National Research Council
Government-University-Industry Research Roundtable
Government-University-Industry Research Roundtable
Policy and Global Affairs
Home About Us Events Publications Projects
Quick Links

News You Can Use
Links to articles of interest to GUIRR members. 

Advanced Manufacturing
Big Data
Energy & Environment
Intellectual Property
Outsourcing/ Insourcing
Research & Development
Research &


Member News | News You Can Use | Solicitations

Featured Stories

Two Federal Officials Join the GUIRR Council
In May 2014, GUIRR welcomed two new federal ex-officio members. Dr. France Cordova joined the GUIRR Council in her capacity as director of the National Science Foundation (NSF). Nominated by President Obama and sworn in on March 31, 2014, Dr. Cordova newly heads this $7.2-billion independent federal agency. For more, see the NSF website.

Also new to the GUIRR Council is Dr. Stephen Ostroff, Acting Chief Scientist for the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA). In this capacity, Dr. Ostroff is responsible for leading and coordinating FDA's cross-cutting scientific and public health efforts. Read more.

Gina McCarthyGUIRR Welcomes EPA Administrator Gina McCarthy To Its Council

On July 18, 2013, Gina McCarthy was confirmed by the United States Senate as the 13th Administrator of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency.  Later in the year she accepted GUIRR’s invitation to become the agency’s ex-officio Council Member. Her nomination was approved by NAS President Ralph Cicerone.  For more information, please visit EPA's website



Charles VestFormer NAE President Charles M. Vest Passes Away

It is with great sadness that we pay our last respects to former NAE president and president emeritus of MIT Dr. Charles M. Vest.  Chuck’s vigorous and remarkably productive life was cut much too short but nonetheless it was full, appreciated deeply, and his impact on our nation and people will be lasting. Read more... 




Ellen StofanNew NASA Chief Scientist Joins GUIRR Council
NASA Administrator Charles Bolden has named planetary geologist Ellen Stofan the agency's chief scientist, effective August 25, 2013.  Dr. Stofan will be Bolden's principal advisor on the agency's science programs and science-related strategic planning and investments.  Prior to her appointment, Stofan was Vice President of Proxemy Research in Laytonsville, Md., and honorary professor in the department of Earth Sciences at University College London in England.  Dr. Stofan has accepted GUIRR's invitation to become an ex-officio Council Member.  For more information, read the NASA press release about Dr. Stofan's appointment and her bio on the GUIRR website.  

Temple University and Comcast-NBCUniversal Join GUIRR as New U-I Partners
GUIRR is pleased to welcome our newest University-Industry Partners pair: Temple University and Comcast-NBCUniversal. The representatives to GUIRR from these institutions are Dr. Michele Masucci, Interim Senior Vice Provost for Research, Temple University and Ms. Rebecca Arbogast, Vice President, Global Public Policy, Comcast-NBCUniversal.  Read Temple's press release on joining GUIRR with Comcast-NBCUniversal

Jacques GanslerJacques Gansler Nominated To Serve as Next GUIRR University Co-Chair
GUIRR’s Executive Committee has nominated Jacques S. Gansler to serve as the Roundtable’s next university co-chair, stepping in to the role occupied for the past two consecutive three-year terms by C. D. (Dan) Mote, Jr. and serving alongside current industry co-chair Uma Chowdhry. Jacques (“Jack”) is a Professor and holds the Roger C. Lipitz Chair in Public Policy and Private Enterprise in the School of Public Policy, and is the Director of the Center for Public Policy and Private Enterprise at the University of Maryland at College Park. He is also the Glenn L. Martin Institute Fellow of Engineering at the A. James Clarke School of Engineering, and an Affiliate Faculty member at the Robert H. Smith School of Business (all at the University of Maryland). Previously, Dr. Gansler served as the Under Secretary of Defense for Acquisition, Technology and Logistics from November 1997 until January 2001. Prior to this appointment, he held leadership positions in industry.  Read more

Catherine WotekiUSDA’s Catherine Woteki Named to GUIRR Executive Committee
Catherine Woteki, Under Secretary for Research, Education, and Economics and Chief Scientist for the U.S. Department of Agriculture, has been named to serve as the federal representative on GUIRR’s Executive Committee. Cathie is a welcome addition with her work and leadership experience in all three of the GUIRR sectors (government, university, industry). She fills the vacancy on the committee left by former NSF Director Subra Suresh.

Erik AtonssonErik Antonsson Named to GUIRR Executive Committee
Erik Antonsson, GUIRR’s representative from Northrop Grumman Aerospace Systems, has been invited and named to serve on GUIRR’s Executive Committee, representing the interests of our University-Industry (U-I) Partners. Erik fills the vacancy left by Dr. Harold Schmitz, Chief Scientist for Mars, Inc., who served ably and admirably on the Committee for two consecutive three-year terms. We are delighted to have Erik continue his leadership involvement in the Roundtable.

University of Tennessee, Knoxville and Oak Ridge National Laboratory Join GUIRR
In March 2013, GUIRR welcomed a new University-Industry Partners pair: the University of Tennessee, Knoxville (UTK) and Oak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL).  The representatives to GUIRR from these instutions are Dr. Taylor Eighmy, Vice Chancellor for Research & Engagement, UTK and Dr. James B. Roberto, Interim Deputy for Science & Technology, ORNL. 

Mote NAEC.D. (Dan) Mote Jr. Nominated to be Next NAE President
The National Academy of Engineering (NAE) 2013 nominating commitee has unanimously recommended C.D. (Dan) Mote Jr., past president and Regents Professor of the University of Maryland (UMD), to stand as the sole candidate for the NAE presidency.  NAE members will vote in March 2013 to elect a new NAE president to a six-year term beginning July 1.  Dr. Mote is currently GUIRR's University Co-chair, completing his second consecutive three-year term.  Read more

Science Subcommittee ACongressional hearing: GUIRR and UIDP members testify on “The Relationship Between Business and Research Universities: Collaborations Fueling American Innovation and Job Creation” as part of witness panel

On August 1, 2012, the U.S. House of Representatives Committee on Science, Space and Technology Subcommittee on Research and Science Education held a hearing to examine partnerships and collaborations between industry and research universities. GUIRR and UIDP were cited as examples of important consortia leading the way.

L to R: William D. Green, Executive Chairman, Accenture; Ray O. Johnson, Senior VP and CTO, Lockheed Martin Corporation; John S. Hickman, Director, Global University Relations and Life Sciences, Deere and Co.; Lou Graziano, Director, University R&D Strategy, Sustainable Technologies & Innovations Sourcing, the Dow Chemical Company; Jilda Diehl Garton, VP for Research and General Manager, Georgia Tech Research Corporation, Georgia Institute of Technology